Radio GaGa

Note the lack of knobs.

The current radio in The Millennium Falcon (yes, it has a name) is shot, so I’m thinking before I make another move, I’m going to replace it. My first thought was to keep it original, get a used exact model, and be content with AM stations for the rest of my life.

But then I Googled “Ford Falcon Radio”, and it turns out that a lot of companies have made upgraded radios that have AM/FM, auxiliary inputs, and CD changers. So now, what to do?

My usual go-to, FalconParts.com, has a great price, but no photo, so they’re out.

DallasMustang.com has a very cool replica-looking radio that has AM/FM/Aux for iPod, but no presets and it’s all manual tuning. I’m also not sure if their radio would work since technically it’s made for a 1965 Ford Mustang, but it does look badass:

DallasMustang.com Replica Radio

RetroSoundUSA.com has a couple of options, both very similar in design, and both digital. I’m not crazy about the chrome plate over the front, but it would be nice to not have to search for NPR (because that’s pretty much all I listen to radio-wise):

RetroSoundUSA Digital Radio

My favorite out of everything I’ve looked at has to be the AM/FM/Aux at ClassicCarSteroes.com. Since I’ll be hard-pressed to find a decently-priced AM/FM replica of the original, this one will do:

ClassicCarSteroes.com Radio

Add in a couple of speakers and I should be rocking out to Morning Edition any day now. Might also want to get a new antenna:

Leave a comment