All I Want For Christmas Is My Defrost

Since my last post, I’ve basically been driving the car as-is because I’ve literally run out of time to work on it. HOWEVER, with winter now looming and the mornings getting chillier by the day, I’ve realized that I need to work on a couple of things, first and foremost, the open fresh air vent:

It was totally fine during the summer, considering this car has no air conditioning, but now that the air coming through there is blistering cold, it sucks. Here’s how it’s supposed to look:

I don’t wanna talk about the wire.

And here’s why it doesn’t:

We’ll talk about the brake fluid bottle later.

The other project I figured I would take on today is figuring out why my defrost hasn’t worked since I bought the car. As I was under the dash investigating the air vent, I made a lovely discovery:

Someone removed the defroster. The cable is hooked on to nothing, because there is nothing to hook on to, and the defroster ducts go nowhere because…well, they’re not there. Apparently whoever had this car before me decided Texas was too hot for a defroster. Which makes this knob completely pointless:

And my shop manual has literally nothing to say about the lack of a defroster:

So basically I’m between a rock and a cold place. I’m going to have to spend next week searching the junkyards so I can figure out what my heater/defroster is supposed to look like, and then see if I can’t rip a working or semi-working defrost register (that’s the part I need, right?) out of someone’s abandoned Falcon.

Thus begins my first real adventure with this car.

Leave a comment